Click here for current PhD opportunities in CHE. But feel free to email me to discuss projects outside these areas and alternative sources of funding including the following EU-ITN funded post.

MSCA- ETN NeuroTrans 

Group website:
ResearcherID profile
Google Scholar; citation index

Fraser obtained a BSc in Chemistry from the University of Sheffield in 1987 and a Dr. rer. nat. from the Department of Chemistry at the Free University of Berlin (Germany) in 1993. He pursued post-doctoral research at the Technical University Berlin (Germany) (1993-1995), the Commissariat de l’Energie Atomique, Saclay, France (1995-1998) and the Johann Wolfgang Goethe-University Frankfurt (Germany) (1998-2006).

Fraser is currently a Reader in the School of Chemistry at the University of East Anglia, Norwich where he joined the faculty in 2007. To coincide with his appointment Fraser has won a Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award. He leads biological EPR research in the Henry Welcome Laboratory.

His present research aims to elucidate structure / function / dynamics relationships in biomacromolecules and macromolecular complexes. Particular emphasis being on the application, and expansion, of electron paramagnetic resonance methods to study membrane proteins.

Selected publications

Shiran Barber-ZuckerJenny HallAfonso FroesSofiya KolushevaFraser MacMillan* and Raz Zarivach*
The cation diffusion facilitator protein MamM’s cytoplasmic domain exhibits metal-type dependent binding modes and discriminates against Mn2+
J. Biol. Chem. accepted (2020)  

Jenny L Hall, Azmat Sohail, Thomas Stockner, Harald H. Sitte, Jesus Angulo, & Fraser MacMillan
Saturation transfer difference NMR on the integral trimeric membrane transport protein GltPh determines cooperative substrate binding
Scientific Reports, 10, 16483 (2020)
DOI 10.1038/s41598-020-73443-z 

Matthew O. Ross, Fraser MacMillan, Jingzhou Wang, Alex Nisthal, Thomas J. Lawton, Barry D. Olafson, Stephen L. Mayo, Amy C. Rosenzweig, Brian M. Hoffman
Particulate methane monooxygenase contains only mononuclear copper centers
364, 566-570 (2019)
DOI: 10.1126/science.aav2572

Elliot L. Bennett, Elliot J. Lawrence, Robin J. Blagg, Anna S. Mullen, Fraser MacMillan, Andreas W. Ehlers, Daniel J. Scott,Joshua S. Sapsford, Andrew E. Ashley, Gregory G. Wildgoose, J. Chris Slootweg,
A New Mode of Chemical Reactivity for Metal-Free Hydrogen Activation by Lewis Acidic Boranes
Angewandte Chemie International Edition 58 (25), 8362-8366 (2019)
DOI: 10.1002/anie.201900861

Hannah B. L. Jones, Rory M. Crean, Anna Mullen, Emanuele G. Kendrick, Steven D. Bull , Stephen A. Wells, David R. Carbery, Fraser MacMillan , Marc W. van der Kamp, and Christopher R. Pudney.
Exposing the Interplay Between Enzyme Turnover, Protein Dynamics, and the Membrane Environment in Monoamine Oxidase B
Biochemistry, 58, 2362-2372 (2019)
DOI: 10.1021/acs.biochem.9b00213

Shiran Barber‐Zucker, Jenny Hall, Sivasubramanyan, Venkata Mangapuram, Itamar Kass, Sofiya Kolusheva, Fraser MacMillan, Raz Zarivach, Arnon Henn,
Metal binding to the dynamic cytoplasmic domain of the cation diffusion facilitator (CDF) protein MamM induces a 'locked-in' configuration
FEBS Journal 286(11) 2193-2215 (2019)
DOI: 10.1111/febs.14795 

Despo Polyviou, Moritz M. Machelett, Andrew Hitchcock, Alison J. Baylay, Fraser MacMillan, C. Mark Moore, Thomas S. Bibby and Ivo Tews,
Structural and functional characterisation of IdiA/FutA (Tery_3377) from the ocean diazotroph Trichodesmium erythraeum
J. Biol. Chem. 293, 18099-18109 (2018)
DOI: 10.1074/jbc.RA118.001929

John Anderson, Daniel Watkins, Jonathan Jenkins, Katie Grayson, Nicola Wood, Jack Steventon, Kristian Le Vay, Matt Goodwin, Anna Mullen, Henry Bailey, Matthew Crump, Fraser MacMillan, Adrian Mulholland, Gus Cameron, Richard Sessions, and Stephen Mann
Construction and in vivo assembly of a catalytically proficient and hyperthermostable de novo enzyme
Nature Communications 8, 358 (2017)
DOI: 10.1038/s41467-017-00541-4



  • 2007 –  present: Reader in Chemistry in the School of Chemistry and Director of the Henry Wellcome Unit for Biological EPR, UEA
  • 2007 – 2012: Wolfson Research Merit Award of The Royal Society
  • 1998 – 2006: Independent/Junior Group Leader Fachbereich Chemie, Biochemie & Pharmazie, J. W. Goethe Universität, Frankfurt, Germany
  • 1995 – 1998: Marie-Curie Stipendiat (of the EU)  at the CEA Saclay, Séction de Bioénergétique, CEA Saclay, Gif-sur-Yvette, France 1993 – 1995    Post-Doc in the Max-Volmer Institut of the Technische Universität Berlin, Germany
  • 1988 – 1993: Dr. rer. nat. in the Institut für Organische Chemie of the Freie Universität Berlin, Germany
  • 1984 – 1987: B.Sc. Sp. Hons. in Pure and Applied Chemistry at the University of Sheffield, UK


View graph of relations

ID: 49491