HomePublications

The Hiding Game

Research output: Book/ReportBook

Standard

The Hiding Game. / Wood, Naomi.

London : Picador, 2019. 352 p.

Research output: Book/ReportBook

Harvard

Wood, N 2019, The Hiding Game. Picador, London.

APA

Wood, N. (2019). The Hiding Game. London: Picador.

Vancouver

Wood N. The Hiding Game. London: Picador, 2019. 352 p.

Author

Wood, Naomi. / The Hiding Game. London : Picador, 2019. 352 p.

Bibtex- Download

@book{eac658a47ebb415f942e83e858614377,
title = "The Hiding Game",
abstract = "This is the story of Paul Brickman, an exiled artist in 1970s England, haunted by his memories of the decade he spent at the Bauhaus art school and the life-changing consequences that have reverberated through the years, especially with regard to the love of his life, Loti, and his best friend, Walter. The story begins in Weimar in 1923 where Paul and his tight-knit group of fellow students are seduced by the charismatic teachings of the Bauhaus. The group quickly becomes a hotbed of unrequited love and burgeoning sexuality. Supposedly friends, it doesn’t stop rivalries and betrayals developing between them, which follow them as the school relocates after being closed down by the far-right government, first to Dessau and then to Berlin. As the group disintegrates under the pressure of their own secrets, lies and love affairs, the novel builds to a powerful tragedy exacerbated by Hitler’s seizing power in 1933. Think Donna Tartt’s The Secret History set in pre-war Germany. For fans of Benjamin Wood’s The Ecliptic and Jessie Burton’s The Muse, it has a similarly atmospheric and fascinating depiction of real-life historical detail as Mrs. Hemingway.",
keywords = "Bauhaus, Weimar Germany, Art and Design",
author = "Naomi Wood",
year = "2019",
month = "7",
day = "11",
language = "English",
isbn = "9781509892785",
publisher = "Picador",

}

RIS (suitable for import to EndNote) - Download

TY - BOOK

T1 - The Hiding Game

AU - Wood, Naomi

PY - 2019/7/11

Y1 - 2019/7/11

N2 - This is the story of Paul Brickman, an exiled artist in 1970s England, haunted by his memories of the decade he spent at the Bauhaus art school and the life-changing consequences that have reverberated through the years, especially with regard to the love of his life, Loti, and his best friend, Walter. The story begins in Weimar in 1923 where Paul and his tight-knit group of fellow students are seduced by the charismatic teachings of the Bauhaus. The group quickly becomes a hotbed of unrequited love and burgeoning sexuality. Supposedly friends, it doesn’t stop rivalries and betrayals developing between them, which follow them as the school relocates after being closed down by the far-right government, first to Dessau and then to Berlin. As the group disintegrates under the pressure of their own secrets, lies and love affairs, the novel builds to a powerful tragedy exacerbated by Hitler’s seizing power in 1933. Think Donna Tartt’s The Secret History set in pre-war Germany. For fans of Benjamin Wood’s The Ecliptic and Jessie Burton’s The Muse, it has a similarly atmospheric and fascinating depiction of real-life historical detail as Mrs. Hemingway.

AB - This is the story of Paul Brickman, an exiled artist in 1970s England, haunted by his memories of the decade he spent at the Bauhaus art school and the life-changing consequences that have reverberated through the years, especially with regard to the love of his life, Loti, and his best friend, Walter. The story begins in Weimar in 1923 where Paul and his tight-knit group of fellow students are seduced by the charismatic teachings of the Bauhaus. The group quickly becomes a hotbed of unrequited love and burgeoning sexuality. Supposedly friends, it doesn’t stop rivalries and betrayals developing between them, which follow them as the school relocates after being closed down by the far-right government, first to Dessau and then to Berlin. As the group disintegrates under the pressure of their own secrets, lies and love affairs, the novel builds to a powerful tragedy exacerbated by Hitler’s seizing power in 1933. Think Donna Tartt’s The Secret History set in pre-war Germany. For fans of Benjamin Wood’s The Ecliptic and Jessie Burton’s The Muse, it has a similarly atmospheric and fascinating depiction of real-life historical detail as Mrs. Hemingway.

KW - Bauhaus

KW - Weimar Germany

KW - Art and Design

M3 - Book

SN - 9781509892785

BT - The Hiding Game

PB - Picador

CY - London

ER -

ID: 144257818