HomePublications

The Hiding Game

Research output: Book/ReportBook

Authors

Organisational units

Abstract

This is the story of Paul Brickman, an exiled artist in 1970s England, haunted by his memories of the decade he spent at the Bauhaus art school and the life-changing consequences that have reverberated through the years, especially with regard to the love of his life, Loti, and his best friend, Walter.

The story begins in Weimar in 1923 where Paul and his tight-knit group of fellow students are seduced by the charismatic teachings of the Bauhaus. The group quickly becomes a hotbed of unrequited love and burgeoning sexuality. Supposedly friends, it doesn’t stop rivalries and betrayals developing between them, which follow them as the school relocates after being closed down by the far-right government, first to Dessau and then to Berlin.

As the group disintegrates under the pressure of their own secrets, lies and love affairs, the novel builds to a powerful tragedy exacerbated by Hitler’s seizing power in 1933.

Think Donna Tartt’s The Secret History set in pre-war Germany. For fans of Benjamin Wood’s The Ecliptic and Jessie Burton’s The Muse, it has a similarly atmospheric and fascinating depiction of real-life historical detail as Mrs. Hemingway.

Details

Original languageEnglish
Place of PublicationLondon
PublisherPicador
Number of pages352
ISBN (Print)9781509892785
Publication statusPublished - 11 Jul 2019

Keywords

    Research areas

  • Bauhaus, Weimar Germany, Art and Design

View graph of relations

ID: 144257818

Related by author
  1. Mrs. Hemingway

    Research output: Book/ReportBook

  2. The Godless Boys

    Research output: Book/ReportBook