HomeOrganisational units

Emerging Technologies for Electric Vehicles (EV)

Organisational unit: Research Group

Profile information

Organisation profile

The transport sector is the fastest growing contributor to climate emissions, accounting for about 23% of global carbon dioxide emissions in 2010 (IPCC, 2014 & WHO).


Decarbonizing transport is one of the largest challenges in the global response to climate change.


This research group is developing emerging, promising, sustainable technologies to accelerate mass-market adoption of electric vehicles, aligning with the scopes of Industrial strategy: building a Britain fit for the future (Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy, November 2017) and Road to zero (Department for Transport, Office for Low Emission Vehicles, July 2018).



Current staff contributing to this research theme:


Salman Abdi Jalebi: design and development of new EV motor


Matthew Alexander: high-resolution electrostatic inkjet printing technology for battery electrodes


Alex Askounis: thermal management of battery


Yogesh Jayant Bhalerao: TBC


Nigel Clayden: determination of ion-diffusion in battery materials by muon techniques


Miguel Hernaez Saenz De Zaitigui: TBC


John Fielden: new materials development for battery electrodes


Oscar Hui: design and development of new hybrid metal-air battery for EV by additive manufacturing


Eleni Kaplani: PV-battery system for EV


Dianzi Liu: optimisation of PV-battery system


Andrew Mayes: formulation of nanomaterials for printing battery electrodes


Sonia Melendi-Espina: graphene materials for battery electrodes


Aram Saeed: prototype development based on computer-aided designs and formulations for additive manufacturing


View graph of relations

ID: 165987151